Hakkuna Matata…


Assurance?
October 2, 2007, 4:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So I read this the other day, really made me stop and think about my assurance that i have in my faith and how sometimes, even when we mess up, God still has eternal life promised for us. That makes me happy inside to know that the creator of the heavens and the earth has not only the time and effort to think of me, but to look past my downfalls and lift me up in faith that He is on my side, no matter how hard Satan tempts or messes with us.

I got a phone call the other day from a friend who goes to church on a regular basis with her husband. I was caught off guard when she told me that she wasn’t sure she was even a Christian. A flood of memories drowned me as I remembered how often, when I was younger, I would ask Jesus into my heart again and again for fear that I was not saved and wouldn’t have eternal life with God.

My friend continued talking, so I stopped her and told her we must go back to what she had said just moments before. She needed to be assured! God does not want us wondering whether we have salvation and eternal life. He wants us to be assured and walk in all He has for us. Meanwhile, the devil would like nothing more than for us to question our salvation and question what Jesus did for us on the cross.

John 3:16 says most clearly that God loves us and therefore sent His Son. While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Romans 5:8).

The Bible promises eternal life to all who receive Christ: And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. “He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life. I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life” (1 John 5:11-13).

Eternal life is knowing God intimately. When you get to know Him, you get to know who you are. We become confident and assured in Him, because we are in Him and He in us.

Let’s get to know who we are through the Scriptures for a moment:

I am God’s child (John 1:12).

I am a friend of Jesus (John 15:15).

I have been justified (Romans 5:1).

I am united with the Lord and I am one with Him in spirit (1 Corinthians 6:17).

I have been bought with a price, and I belong to God (1 Corinthians 6:19, 20)

I have been chosen by God and adopted as His child (Ephesians 1:3-8).

I am complete in Christ (Colossians 2:9, 10).

I am God’s workmanship (Ephesians 2:10).

Think on these things. They will change the way you feel, think, and therefore act. The book of Proverbs says that as a man thinks, so he becomes. Allow this truth to permeate your being today, tomorrow and all the days of your life. The more you reaffirm who you are in Christ, the more your behavior will begin to reflect your true identity in Christ Jesus!

— Thank you, Heavenly Father, for Your incredible love that put Your Son on the cross so I may know You and be with You forever. Thank you for the assurance that I am Yours and You are mine. Thank you that it is only by faith through grace that I may know You and love You today and forever. In Jesus’ name, amen.–

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

